The HIMAs (AKA “The Maggies”) is committed to supporting the Hamilton community of independent journalists by hosting a yearly awards celebration. Through the awards the HIMAs seeks to promote critical independent journalism in the City of Hamilton and beyond.

The 2018 HIMAs Board

Sherri Hewitt-Currie

Sherri Hewitt-Currie is Maggie Hughes’ niece. Sherri currently works in health care, enjoys the great outdoors, loves to take pictures of nature (Mostly flowers!) and misses walking and hiking with her Aunt Maggie. Sherri is pleased to have Maggie’s name and legacy carry on with the HIMA’s and the award winners. Maggie would be proud! Maggie was a multi-talented woman who knew how to get her message out and across.

Tracee Lee-Holloway

Tracee Lee-Holloway is an arts advocate and creative community builder here in Hamilton. A 2015 Hamilton Arts Award nominee for Arts Innovation, Tracee is also the founder of Think Tank Tuesday with Tracee (a 50 weeks a year meetup now in it’s 6th year.) A fervent supporter of the grassroots arts and music scene, she can be found every month documenting Artcrawl and everyday on all the usual social media channels.

Lyla Miklos

Lyla Miklos is an award winning activist, broadcast journalist, creative, education worker, lay chaplain, publicist, and special events organizer. A Mohawk College Radio Broadcasting (1997) and Broadcast Journalism (1998) graduate, she was named an Alumni of Distinction in 2003. Lyla is a Hamilton Woman of the Year in Communications (2003) and a Hamilton Pride Citizen of the Year (2007). Lyla hosts Centre Stage on 101.5 FM The Hawk and owns Lyla-The Publicist. In 2016 Lyla won a Maggie for Best Arts & Culture Journalist.

Kurt Muller

Kurt Muller has worked in television news since graduating with an MA in Journalism from the University of Western Ontario in 1993. He was a reporter with CFTO News in Toronto from 1994 to 1997 and he has spent seven years as a writer for CTV News with Lloyd Robertson and CTVNews.com. He has also worked as a freelance reporter for CHCH News in Hamilton. Kurt began his career as a general assignment reporter at the Opasquia Times, a community newspaper in The Pas, Manitoba. Kurt is currently the Associate Dean of Media and Entertainment at Mohawk College.

Paige Petrovsky

Paige Petrovsky is a recent graduate of Mohawk College’s journalism program and has a passion for literature, writing, photography, and pop-culture. She is enthusiastic about Hamilton and all the city has to offer. She was previously an intern for CBC Books, and was part of Canada Reads 2017 and 2018. Paige hopes to continue to work in the book beat throughout her journalism career while accepting other opportunities and challenges that come her way.

HIMAS Founding Members

Sherri Hewitt-Currie

Kevin MacKay

Amanda Stewart

Maggie Hughes

Why are they called “The Maggies”? Maggie Hughes (born Margaret Hewitt) was a well-known Hamilton independent journalist who produced and hosted a weekly radio show on CFMU called The Other Side. Maggie was an indelible fixture in the Hamilton activist community, and a tireless advocate for peace, social justice, the environment, and the rights of workers, women, indigenous peoples, and people with disabilities. She used her skills as a journalist to raise awareness of these important issues, and to shine a critical light onto stories overlooked by corporate media.Sadly, Maggie died on Nov. 4th, 2012, after a long battle with multiple sclerosis. Following her passing, members of the activist community wanted to create a sustaining legacy to honour Maggie and her life’s work. As a result, The Hamilton Independent Media Awards / “The Maggies” was born.

Videos from past Awards


Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)


Your Message